The NSW Government is providing a grant for small businesses in eligible local government areas (LGAs) that have been impacted by the closure of the NSW and Victorian border.

The 'Southern border small business support grant' is designed to provide immediate, short-term cashflow assistance to help businesses survive or adapt to the changed circumstances.

The grant amount will be tiered based on the business's decline in turnover:

  • the first tier of $5000 is for small businesses, with or without employees (including non-employing sole traders) that have suffered at least a 30% decline in turnover as a result of the border closure
  • the second tier of $10,000 is for small businesses that employ between 0.5 and 20 full-time equivalent (FTE) staff, that have suffered at least a 75% decline as a result of the closure.

The grants can only be used for eligible expenses:

  • incurred following the introduction of the New South Wales and Victoria border permit scheme on 8 July 2020
  • for which no other government support is available. For example, the grant cannot be used to pay wages for staff eligible for JobKeeper.

What expenses are eligible?

Can only be used for expenses for which no other government support is available.

Examples of grant use include operating expenses, financial or legal advice and marketing and communication.

Eligible LGAs

  • Albury
  • Balranald
  • Berrigan
  • Bega Valley
  • Edward River
  • Federation
  • Greater Hume Shire
  • Hay
  • Murray River
  • Murrumbidgee
  • Snowy Monaro
  • Snowy Valleys
  • Wentworth.

Further information on eligibility criteria will be available prior to the application opening date of 8 September 2020.